03 enero 2015

Waterpolo By the Sea ... Australia (imágenes)

Int. All Stars triumph at Water Polo by the Sea

The International All Stars team have won for the first time at Water Polo by the Sea, the 12-10 effort enough to break the Aussie Sharks three year stronghold on the event at the Bondi Icebergs, Sydney. FINA World Player of the Year and captain of the All Stars team Filipe Filipovic was named player of the match as his clinical attack saw him score a personal tally of six goals to lead his team to victory.

Despite the loss, young Aussies Aaron Younger and Lachlan Edwards produced impressive performances, Younger with a solo effort in the third term to swim away for his third goal, while Edwards showed the crowd why he is a centre forward international opponents need to be wary of in 2015. The All Stars were the first to open their account as they looked to Filipovic who scored his first of two goals in a seemingly effortless manner. Young West Australian George Ford soon returned serve, as did Younger who put two goals in the back of the cage for Australia to lead 3-2 at the first break.

It was again the All Stars who struck first early in the second term, off the arm of Italian Fabrizio Buonocore, however Matt Gronow and Lachlan Edwards soon put the sharks back in the lead. Filipovic was again in the thick of the action to score one of two penalty opportunities. With the intensity at fever pitch, Aussie Jarrod Gilchrist scored his first before the reliable arm of Filipovic levelled the scores 6-6 by the half time break.

More photos :

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario